Loss to Boku still stings for Kelly

MANILA, Philippines — It’s still too fresh for Eric Kelly.

Falling prey to the legendary Kotetsu Boku of Japan last weekend, the fighter from Baguio City admits the loss is a bitter pill to swallow — especially because it came on a crucial time.

“I really feel disappointed with what happened. I was really prepared for my bout against Kotetsu Boku, but there are things that it’s beyond our control,” the gym-less mixed martial artist said.

Kelly would’ve arrested his two-match dry spell that started early 2016. Winning 12 of his first 13 pro bouts, “The Natural” carved his way up to the Philippine MMA’s line of elites.

A victory over the older but much more tested Boku would’ve propelled Kelly back to ONE Championship relevance.

Eric Kelly (right) absorbs a kick from Japan's Kotetsu Boku during ONE Championship's © Philstar.com Eric Kelly (right) absorbs a kick from Japan’s Kotetsu Boku during ONE Championship’s “Kings and Conquerors” card in Macau last Saturday. | ONE Championship Photo

“I cannot deny that I am disappointed. I have to accept the outcome. It is a hard lesson for me, but I will be back as an improved and better fighter,” shared Kelly the day after his “Kings and Conquerors” match in Macau, China over the weekend.

And while he admits that the failed bid is weighing him down, he also shared that he has given himself an ultimatum.

“Right now I need some little time for myself and think about what happened, but it won’t be long because I want to get back inside the cage and redeem myself. Winning and fighting again will motivate me,” Kelly said.

“I am fine and no harm done. But I cannot deny that I am disappointed. I have to accept the outcome. It is a hard lesson for me, but I will be back as an improved and better fighter,” the Lightweight said.

The Filipino is now 12-4-0 and now 4-4 in the Asian promotion.

“I won’t throw in the towel that easy. This will not stop me,” he continued. “I am only 35 years old. There are still a lot left in me.”

from Loss to Boku still stings for Kelly

Leave a Reply

